Dhaulagiri Circuit Trek

Dhaulagiri Circuit Trek

It was closed for sometime to travel for trekkers and is re-opened now from two years ago. Through quite a few mountains, the word over, have names that translate into white Mountain, this is the biggest of them all and the region around it’s one of the beaten trek’ trekking destinations.This trek follows a circuitous trail, first completed by an Austrian Expedition team in 1959 around Dhaulagiri (8,167 m) and Tukuche peak (6,920 m.). Starting from Pokhara the trail leads north west up the Kaligandaki river valley staying on the rivers right bank through Beni and Tatopani (here the Kaligandaki gives way to Myagdi Khola). Continuing from Tatopani (what means hot spring) you pas through Phedi and Dhorpatan to Muri, then head north along the left bank to cross the Myagdi Glacier and Dhaulagiri Base Camp (4,750 m.). Approaching the French pass (5,360 m.), between the summits of Tukuche peak and Mukut Himal.

Throughout, the colossal peaks of the Dhaulagiri range surrounding you. Crossing the French pass (the highest point on your trek) you come out into the Hidden valley. From here you swing southeast along the trail leading to Dhampus Pass, between Tukuche and Thapa peak. Descending from Dhampus Pass you reach the village of Tukuche on route to Jomsom and Muktinath (an Important Buddhist and Hindu Pilgrimage site). After returning to Jomsom from Muktinath and fly to Pokhara, than on to Kathmandu.It is advisable to take one or two days rest before you climbs to the Dhaulagiri Base Camp to acclimatise for your trek into high altitudes. Being a strenuous trek, it is suggested that participants must be in excellent physical condition and possess some previous experience and skill of crossing glaciers end climbing snow slopes. Weather could play a definitive role in determining the successful completion of this trek.


Day 1: Drive to Beni/ or fly to Pokhara
Day 2: Beni – Babichoaur (950m)
Day 3: Babichoaur – Phedi (1100m)
Day 4: Phedi – Phalai Gaun (1810m)
Day 5: Phalai Gaun – Below Jugapani
Day 6: Below Jugapani – Boghara (2080m)
Day 7: Boghara – Lapche kharka
Day 8: Lapche kharka – Chartare (2820m)
Day 9: Chartare – Pakoban (3585m)
Day 10: Pakoban – Dhaulagiri Basecamp (4750m)
Day 11: Dhaulagiri Basecamp – French pass (5360m)
Day 12: Walk five hours form French pass and camp on 4915m.
Day 13: French pass – Yak kharka (4500m)
Day 14: Yak kharka – Marpha (2667m)
Day 15: Marpha
Day 16: Marpha – Lete (2438m)
Day 17: Lete – Tatopani (1189m)
Day 18: Tatopani – Ghorepani (2855m)
Day 19: Poonhill
Day 20: Tadapani – Ghandruk (1951m)
Day 21: Ghandruk – Birethati and drive to Pokhara
Day 22: Pokhara – Kathmandu

0  Reviews on Dhaulagiri Circuit Trek View All

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *